A functional movement test (FMS) is a tool utilised to find any asymmetries that can result in functional movement deficiencies. The FMS goal is to pinpoint imbalances in mobility and stability while doing seven fundamental movement patterns.

This was designed and created to help clinicians and healthcare professionals assess individuals for risk of injury and/or a dysfunctional or performance-limiting movement pattern.

When these dysfunctions have been found using the FMS, a tailored program of corrective exercises is then created with the aim of preventing musculoskeletal injuries.

What Are The Seven Movements?

An FMS includes seven movements that quickly and effectively screen core strength, coordination, flexibility, and dynamic stability which includes:

  1. Deep Squat
  2. Hurdle Step
  3. In-line Lunge
  4. Shoulder Mobility
  5. Active Straight-leg Raise
  6. Trunk Stability Push-up
  7. Rotary Stability

These seven seven movement patterns are scored from 0-3 points, with the sum creating a score ranging from 0-21 points. A score of less than or equal to 14 on the FMS is used as the cut-off score. Individuals who score less than 14 points on the FMS screen have a greater risk for sustaining an injury.